CdeO is 1 of 9 Finalists in eGov Awards for LGU

Cagayan de Oro City made it as one of the finalists in the ‘Best in eGov Business Empowerment Award’ for Local Government Units.

City Mayor Vicente “Dongkoy” Y. Emano learned about this development from Acting City Treasurer Eng’r. Marilyn P. Legaspi after the just recently held eGov Awards National Judging at Oxford Hotel in the Clark Freeport Zone, Pampanga.

The eGov Awards was initiated and set in motion by then Department of Interior and Local Government Secretary Jesse Robredo through a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the National ICT Confederation of the Philippines (NICP) and CyberCity Teleservices Philippines Inc., earlier this year.

The awards aim to give recognition to local government units all over the nation that adopted new methodologies for serving the public through modern communication technologies, now termed as ‘e-governance’.

The eGov Awards consist of 2 categories namely, government-to-business (G2B) and government-to-customer (G2C). Cagayan de Oro City was chosen as a finalist under the G2B Category, along with Balanga City (Bataan), Carmona (Cavite), San Fernando (La Union), Cebu City, Ormoc City, Iloilo province, Koronodal City, and Butuan City.